Global Innovation Index 2019: Switzerland, Sweden, U.S., Netherlands, U.K. Rank Top Five; China Ranks the 14th, Up 3 Places from 2018

Published on 2019-07-31

The Global Innovation Index (GII) revealed the innovation rankings of economies and the findings of this year’s theme at the global launch in New Delhi, India, on Wednesday, 24 July, 2019.


Switzerland is the world’s most-innovative country followed by Sweden, the United States of America (U.S.), the Netherlands and the United Kingdom (U.K.), according to the 2019 edition of the Global Innovation Index (GII), which also identifies regional leaders India, South Africa, Chile, Israel and Singapore, with China, Viet Nam and Rwanda topping their income groups.

Now in its 12th edition, the GII is a global benchmark that helps policy makers better understand how to stimulate and measure innovative activity, a main driver of economic and social development. The GII 2019 ranks 129 economies (Annex 1) based on 80 indicators, from traditional measurements like research and development investments and international patent and trademark applications to newer indicators including mobile-phone app creation and high-tech exports.

The GII 2019 also looks at the economic context: Despite signs of slowing economic growth, innovation continues to blossom, particularly in Asia, but pressures are looming from trade disruptions and protectionism. Sound government planning for innovation is critical for success, the report shows.

“The GII shows us that countries that prioritise innovation in their policies have seen significant increases in their rankings,” said WIPO Director General Francis Gurry. “The rise in the GII by economic powerhouses like China and India have transformed the geography of innovation and this reflects deliberate policy action to promote innovation,” said WIPO Director General Francis Gurry.

Top 20 in Global Ranking

  1. Switzerland (Number 1 in 2018)
  2. Sweden (3)
  3. United States of America (6)
  4. The Netherlands (2)
  5. United Kingdom (4)
  6. Finland (7)
  7. Denmark (8)
  8. Singapore (5)
  9. Germany (9)
  10. Israel (11)
  11. Korea, Republic of (12)
  12. Ireland (10)
  13. Hong Kong (China) (14)
  14. China (17)
  15. Japan (13)
  16. France (16)
  17. Canada (18)
  18. Luxemburg (15)
  19. Norway (19)
  20. Iceland (23)