Technology and Innovation

Mission Statement

The ‘Technology and Innovation Committee of the British Chamber of Commerce Shanghai’ is the first Sino-UK tech-focused platform in China that brings together industry leaders, government departments, and non-profit organisations. Our mission is to improve cooperation and commercial ties in the technology sector through a combination of advocacy, promotion, resource sharing, and interactive events. 

  • Advocate British technology and innovation interests in the Chinese market to increase cross-border trade and investment in the sector.
  • Inform members and partners of the latest innovations, industry news, market trends and committee activities through different social channels and newsletters. 
  • Promote the technology, innovations and vitality of the British and Chinese ecosystems via a series of events and digital marketing activities.
  • Connect innovators, investors, corporates and organisations from both countries through member networks, formal dialogue and chamber events.
  • Collaborate with a network of partners (both private and public) through various channels and mediums to drive commercial outcomes.

Committee Members

Chair: Benjamin Speyer, CEO, Serica Group


David Messenger, CEO, LianLian Pay
Yuzhou Yang, Partner, Dentons
Fred Zhu, Head of Technology, Hays
Dr Yitong Li, CEO, NatGenEco
Vicky Mao, General Manager, BITE Investments
Jake Watkin, Managing Director, Sino European Innovation Centre
Dr Sharon Chan, Head of JLABS @ Shanghai, Johnson & Johnson

Ex-Officio Members:

Tony Clemson, Deputy Director of Innovation & Industry, Department of International Trade (DIT)
Lin Yu, Assistant Director of Technology & Innovation, China Britain Business Council (CBBC)

Chamber Executive Committee Sponsor:

James Gathercole, Partner, Odgers Berndtson

Chamber Office Facilitator: 

Jun Wang 

If you would like to apply to become a member of this committee or recommend an event, please contact the Chamber Staff Jun Wang